Horizontal Structures

Album Review of Horizontal Structures by Moritz von Oswald Trio.

Home » Electronic » Horizontal Structures

Horizontal Structures

Moritz von Oswald Trio

Horizontal Structures by Moritz von Oswald Trio

Release Date: Mar 15, 2011
Record label: Honest Jon's
Genre(s): Electronic, Experimental, Techno, Ambient Techno, Minimal Techno

74 Music Critic Score
How the Music Critic Score works

Buy Horizontal Structures from Amazon

Horizontal Structures - Very Good, Based on 3 Critics

AllMusic - 80
Based on rating 8/10

On their second studio album together, Moritz von Oswald (programming, keyboards, percussion), Vladislav Delay (percussion), and Max Loderbauer (sequencer, synthesizer) are joined by guitarist Paul St. Hilaire (a frequent collaborator with von Oswald's Rhythm & Sound) and double bassist Marc Muellbauer. The new elements do not obscure the trio’s potency as improvisational hypnotists.

Full Review >>

PopMatters - 70
Based on rating 7/10

Moritz Von Oswald’s Basic Channel projects were all about establishing borders, running fences around austere prisms of sound so as to not taint them with the glut of overindulgence. His project with Vladislav Delay/Luomo’s Sasu Ripatti and NSI/Sun Electric’s Max Lodbauer as the Moritz Von Oswald Trio seems to wander through a hinterland looking for those borders, despite giving all his tracks restrictive names like “Patterrn”, on the previous release Vertical Ascent, and “Structure”, on Horizontal Structure. The group has a jazzy tilt, exploring electro-acoustic space in a structured and controlled environment.

Full Review >>

Pitchfork - 70
Based on rating 7.0/10

As a member of pioneering minimal/dub/techno outfits Basic Channel and Rhythm & Sound, Moritz Von Oswald has spent more than a decade imbuing machine music with human warmth. More recently, he's doing the opposite-- making warm bodies sound like machines. Moritz Von Oswald Trio is his group of living, breathing musicians-- an all-star ensemble that also includes Max Loderbauer (NSI, Sun Electric) and percussionist Sasu Ripatti (Vladislav Delay).

Full Review >>

'Horizontal Structures'

is available now